Skip to main content

Over the years, individual states have looked for ways to express pride in their heritage. And with all due respect to songs, birds and flowers, we’d say the best possible example of this is the selection of dogs as symbols of the state’s culture and history. After all, different breeds of dogs are a part of what makes America’s geographical mosaic so special and unique!

So does your state have a state dog? Yes, you better believe that’s a thing. Learn if you’re lucky enough to live in one of the 13 places that has its own pup, in our comprehensive state dogs guide!


The majority of states have yet to choose an official state dog (boo). But 13 have, through legislative decrees that have occasionally been motivated by public campaigns.

The list of states that have state dogs as of 2022 includes:

  • Alaska
  • Delaware
  • Louisiana
  • Maryland
  • Massachusetts
  • New Hampshire
  • North Carolina
  • Pennsylvania
  • South Carolina
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Virginia
  • Wisconsin



What is the State Dog of Alaska?

Alaskan Malamute, Official State Dog of Alaska

In 2007, a group of schoolchildren at Polaris K-12 school in Anchorage petitioned the state legislature to have the Alaskan Malamute named the official state dog…

Read More on Pet Plate

Get Exclusive Offers for Your Pet

    Our Pet Beyond

    Author Our Pet Beyond

    More posts by Our Pet Beyond